• norasplaylist

"Home Is Not A Place" Broken Robots New Album

About Broken Robots: [Information provided by Facebook]

Broken Robots is an indie pop/rock/hip-hop group comprised of three downtrodden antiheroes from the city of Chicago. "Home Is Not a Place" is the group's first full length album, and tells the story of the city experience through the eyes of ex-cons. The group was formed by Kat Baker and Tony Baker in December 2017, when the duo began writing music together in their Chicago apartment. Kat and Tony Baker met off the highway exit at Lake Street and 355 in April 2015, at a time when both had decided to give up on their passion for music. Kat was a former folk singer-songwriter and Tony was a former audio engineer, musician, actor, and vocalist in a variety of projects spanning from 1996-2008. Kat was working a miserable sales job, and Tony was panhandling. Their relationship began after months of Kat driving by and giving Tony dollars and cigarettes, and eventually evolved into regular trips into the Chicago ghettos together to buy heroin. By May of 2016, the couple had been arrested together numerous times and were being investigated by law enforcement in multiple counties. Against all odds, they managed to turn themselves around toward the end of 2016. On November 30th, 2016, Kat checked into a Chicago Rehabilitation Center. 9 Days later, Tony followed suit. They spent 4 months in the program, volunteering with multiple small musical projects and performing at open mics. As they began to heal, their mutual passion for music gave them a new purpose and a new project. In December of 2017, Broken Robots was born. ​ They began by releasing single tracks on Soundcloud about their experiences with death, mental illness, addiction and redemption. They compiled these tracks into their debut album, "Home Is Not a Place". In May 2018, they were joined by bass player Marvin Ontiveros and are currently preparing for live performances. The album was written, produced, arranged, performed, engineered, mixed and mastered by Kat and Tony Baker themselves.

Tony Baker, Kat Baker, Marvin Ontiveros

"Home Is Not A Place" is an album that you can listen from start to finish without skipping a song, it gave me a nostalgic but futuristic feel, their style and sound is refreshing and crispy, from "Money off the Trip" to "Homemade Grenades" these are just a couple of songs that you should jam to while driving down Lakeshore Drive, I definitely will! It's difficult to pick a favorite song from the album but I have to say I love "Pale Blue Dot", I can relate to that song, it talks about how small we are in comparison of the vastness of the Universe so sit back, relax and enjoy your temporary stay, don't take life too serious, we weren't the first ones here and certainly won't be the last, just have fun while you are still alive!

I had the opportunity to see them live at The Burlington Bar and their energy and music radiates across the room! I love how they interact with the audience, it makes you feel at home because "Home Is Not A Place", it's a feeling.

Broken Robots at The Burlington Bar [Photography by Nora Leon]

Check out their new album on Spotify and Soundcloud!



Check out their website where you can also find cool merchandise!


For booking:


Hashtag board!

#BrokenRobots #NewAlbum #HomeisnotaPlace #Spotify #Soundcloud #BrokenRobotsmusic #ChicagoBands #TheBurlingtonBar #MusicBlogger #NorasPlaylist #NewMusic #ChicagoIndie

  • My Spotify
  • Facebook Page
  • My Instagram
  • Youtube Channel
  • My Snapchat